Irish Baseball and Softball Federation Ladies Fastpitch 2000

Irish Baseball & Softball Federation Logo [Reference: 1]

Ladies Fastpitch Teams

PositionTeam 1PositionTeam 2
PitcherSamantha RobinsonPitcherLinda Davies/Janet Mogerly
CatcherAnn KellyCatherLinda Scannell
1st BaseBrid Horan1st BaseGayle Trower
2nd BasePaula Davies2nd BaseOonagh Hartley
3rd BaseEmer (Bat Pak)3rd BaseCaitriona (Hookers)
Short StopCarol O’TooleShort StopKeely Wynne
Out FieldEmer (Flyer)Out FieldEithne Robinson
Out FieldBronagh RumgayOut FieldAnn Carty
Out FieldHelen ReddyOut FieldOlwen Barrett
ExtrasAevanne JoyceExtrasAnn Murphy
Niamh O’GormanDebbie Penney
Mya SmithDeirdre Walsh
Elaine FinnertySinead Murphy
Triona O’NeillSusan Nolan
[References: 2]


Two Ladies Fastpitch Teams were set up in 2000 by the Leinster Softball Association branch of the Irish Baseball & Softball Federation. With an aim of entering the Olympics (Women’s Fastpitch was an Olympic Sport) it was a step up from the Female Slowpich League which had been running since 1997. The Women’s International Fastpitch Team entered the Canada Cup in 2002 (see Fastpitch Softball Page).

About Fastpitch Softball

Fastpitch Softball is Women’s Baseball – there are 9 players on a Fastpitch Team (Like Baseball and unlike Co-Ed Slowpitch Softball which has 10 players per team with an extra player in the outfield,



[1] GeoCities – Dublin Bay Packers (1999) Irish Baseball and Softball Federation Logo[Internet] Available from: [Accessed 17 August 2017]

Internet Archive

[2] IBSF Wayback Machine (1999) LSA Ladies League: Fastpitch [Internet] Available from:[Accessed 28 September 2018]


Thanks to Marie Fogarty, M&Ms

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 28 February 2021

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2021

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply