Texas League Baseball Champions 1888-Present

Texas League Baseball [Ref: 2]

Texas League Champions 1888-Present

1888Dallas Hams
1889Houston Babiesleague ceased on Aug 14
1890Galveston Sand Crabsleague ceased on June 8
1892Houston Mud Cats
1895Fort Worth Panthers7Dallas6
1896Houston Buffaloes5Galveston2
1897Galveston Sand Crabs /
San Antonio Bronchos
1899Galveston San Crabsleague ceased on Jul 6
1902Corsicana Oil Citys
1903Dallas Giants7Waco3
1904Corsicana Oil Citys11Forth Worth8
1905Fort Worth Panthers
1906Cleburne Railroaderswon by forfeit
1907Austin Senators
1908San Antonio Bronchos
1909Houston Buffaloes
1910Dallas Giants /
Houston Buffaloes
1911Austin Senators
1912Houston Buffaloes
1913Houston Buffaloes
1914Houston Buffaloes /
Waco Navigators
1915Waco Navigators
1916Waco Navigators
1917Dallas Submarines
1918Dallas Submarines
1919Shreveport Gassers4Fort Worth2
1920Fort Worth Panthers
1921Fort Worth Panthers
1922Fort Worth Panthers
1923Fort Worth Panthers
1924Fort Worth Panthers
1925Fort Worth Panthers
1926Dallas Steers
1927Wichita Falls Spudders
1928Houston Buffaloes3Wichita Falls1
1929Dallas Steers3Wichita Falls1
1930Fort Worth Panthers3Wichita Falls2
1931Houston Buffaloes
1932Beaumont Exporters3Dallas0
1933San Antonio Missions4Glaveston2
1934Galveston Buccaneers4San Antonio2
1935Oklahoma City Indians4Beaumont1
1936Tulsa Oilers4Dallas3
1937Fort Worth Cats4OklahomaCity2
1938Beaumont Exporters4San Antonio3
1939Fort Worth Cats4Dallas1
1940Houston Buffaloes4Beaumont1
1941Dallas Rebels4Tulsa2
1942Shreveport Sports4Beaumont3
1946Dallas Rebels4Fort Worth1
1947Houston Buffaloes4Dallas2
1948Fort Worth Cats4Tulsa2
1949Tulsa Oilers4Fort Worth3
1950San Antonio Missions4Tulsa2
1951Houston Buffaloes4San Antonio0
1952*Shreveport SportsDallas Eagles
1953*Dallas EaglesDallas Eagles
1954*Houston BuffaloesShreveport Sports
1955*Shreveport SportsDallas Eagles
1956*Houston BuffaloesHouston Buffaloes
1957*Houston BuffaloesDallas Eagles
1958*Corpus Christi GiantsFort Worth Cats
1959*Austin SenatorsVictoria Rosebuds
1960*Tulsa OilersRio Grande Valley Giants
1961*San Antonio MissionsAmarillo Gold Sox
1962*Tulsa OilersEl Paso Sun Kings
1963*Tulsa OilersSan Antonio Bullets
1964San Antonio Bullets3Tulsa1
1965Albuquerque Dodgers3Tulsa1
1966Austin Braves1Anbuquerque0
1967Albuquerque Dodgers(no playoffs)
1968El Paso Sun Kings3Arkansas1
1969Memphis Blues3San Antonio2
1970Albuquerque Dodgers3Memphis1
1971**Charlotte Hornets3Arkansas0
1972El Paso Sun Dodgers3Alexandria0
1973Memphis Blues3San Antonio2
1974Victoria Toros3El Paso0
1975Lafayette Drillers /
Midland Cubs
1976Amarillo Gold Sox3Shreveport2
1977Arkansas Travelers2El Paso0
1978El Paso Diablos3Jackson0
1979Arkansas Travelers3San Antonio0
1980Arkansas Travelers3San Antonio0
1981Jackson Mets3San Antonio0
1982Tulsa Drillers3El Paso0
1983Beaumont Golden Gators3Jackson0
1984Jackson Mets4Beaumont2
1985Jackson Mets4El Paso0
1986El Paso Diablos4Jackson0
1987Wichita Pilots4Jackson2
1988Tulsa Drillers4El Paso2
1989Tulsa Drillers4El Paso2
1990Shreveport Captains4San Antonio2
1991Shrevport Captains4El Paso2
1992Wichita Wranglers4Shreveport0
1993Jackson Generals3El Paso0
1994El Paso Diablos4Jackson0
1995Shreveport Captains4Midland1
1996Jackson Generals4Wichita0
1997San Antonio Missions4Shreveport3
1998Tulsa Drillers4Wichita3
1999Wichita Wranglers4Tulsa0
2000Round Rock Express4Wichita1
2001Arkansas Travelers2Round Rock0
2002San Antonio Missions4Tulsa3
2003San Antonio Missions4Frisco1
2004Frisco RoughRiders4Round Rock1
2005Midland RockHounds3Arkansas1
2006Corpus Christi Hooks3Wichita1
2007San Antonio Missions3Springfield1
2008Arkansas Travelers3Frisco2
2009Midland RockHounds3NW Arkansas1
2010Northwest Arkansas Naturals3Midland1
2011San Antonio Missions3Arkansas0
2012Springfield Cardinals3Frisco1
2013San Antonio Missions3Arkansas2
2014Midland RockHounds3Tulsa2
2015Midland RockHounds3NW Arkansas0
2016Midland RockHounds3NW Arkansas1
2017Midland RockHounds3Tulsa2
2018Tulsa Drillers3San Antonio0
2019Amarillo Sod Poodles3Tulsa2
Texas League Champions 1888-Present [Ref: 1]

*From 1952-1964, if first place club in regular season and playoff champions were not the same, they were declared Co-Champions. Playoff Champions mentioned in Champions column, First Place Club during Regular Season in Italics.

**Dixie League Champions. The Dixie Association was a one-year merger of the Texas and Southern Leagues in 1971.

In 1889, 1890 and 1899, the league ceased play early on the dates indicated.


The Texas League is currently a AA (3rd Level) Baseball League in Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas and Louisiana. It has also at times included New Mexico. It forms one of three AA (3rd Level) Pro Leagues in the Minor League Baseball System (levels AAA to A, and Rookie), below Major League Baseball, along with the Eastern League and Southern League.



[1] Minor League Baseball (2020) Texas League Champions [Internet] Available from: https://www.milb.com/texas/history/champions [Accessed 12 March 2020]

[2] Minor League Baseball (2020) Texas League Logo [Internet] Available from: https://milb.bamcontent.com/assets/images/6/6/8/300505668/cuts/568×142/cut.jpg [Accessed 12 March 2020]


Thanks to Hugh Mulcahy.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 12 March 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply